Screenreader Navigation - [ Skip to Content | Skip to Main Navigation ]
[FSU Seal Image] - Return to Home
Florida State University - Return to Home

Page supergraphic

Education / Faculty & Staff / Dean's Management Team / Dean Marcy Driscoll

Dean Marcy Driscoll

Dean & Director of University Teacher Education

Additional Information

(850) 644-6885

Contact Information

View Dean Driscoll's CV

Marcy P. Driscoll is Dean of The Florida State University College of Education. She is also the Leslie J. Briggs Professor of Educational Research and a professor in the Instructional Systems and Educational Psychology Programs within the Department of Educational Psychology and Learning Systems at the university.

Dean Driscoll’s research centers on learning, instructional theory, and educational semiotics. She is the author or co-author of eight textbooks and an edited research handbook in learning and instruction, and has published numerous articles in professional journals on learning and instruction theory. Her book titled Psychology of Learning for Instruction won the 1995 Outstanding Book Award in Instructional Development from the Association for Educational Communications and Technology (AECT) and has been translated into both Korean and Chinese. Now in its 3rdedition, it remains a top-ranked book in the instructional systems field.

Dean Driscoll has recently focused her effort on issues related to education policy and teacher education because of her role as dean. She was co-PI on a grant from the Florida Department of Education that established the Florida Center for Research in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (FCR-STEM) and co-PI on FSU-Teach, which established an innovative teacher preparation program in math and science education. In addition, she has earned a number of awards in recognition of excellence in undergraduate and graduate teaching.

Dean Driscoll’s past appointments include serving as Chair of the department from 1996-2003 and as Associate Dean of Research and Administration for the College of Education from 2003-2005. She is also Past-president of AECT. She is a member of the American Educational Research Association (AERA), the Organization of Institutional Affiliates (AERA’s policy arm), the National Consortium for Instruction & Cognition (NCIC), American Association for Colleges of Teacher Education (AACTE), and the Council for Academic Deans for Research Education Institutions (CADREI).

She received her A.B. magna cum laude from Mt. Holyoke College and her M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Educational Psychology from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst.